Math symbols
About us
Contact us
Site map
Search The Site
   Program of Lessons
 Study Guide
 Topics of problems
 Tests & exams
www.bymath.com Study Guide - Arithmetic Study Guide - Algebra Study Guide - Geometry Study Guide - Trigonometry Study Guide - Functions & Graphs Study Guide - Principles of Analysis Study Guide - Sets Study Guide - Probability Study Guide - Analytic Geometry Select topic of problems Select test & exam Rules Price-list Registration

Regular polyhedrons

Regular polygons. Convex regular polyhedrons: tetrahedron,
hexahedron (cube), octahedron, dodecahedron, icosahedron.
Non-convex regular polyhedrons.

A polyhedron is called a regular one, if all its faces are equal regular polygons and the same number of faces join in each its vertex. It is known only five convex regular polyhedrons and  four non-convex regular polyhedrons. The regular convex polyhedrons are the following: a  tetrahedron ( 4 faces, Fig.99 ); a  hexahedron  ( 6 faces, Fig.100 ) well known for us as a cube; an  octahedron ( 8 faces, Fig.101 ); a dodecahedron (12 faces, Fig.102); an icosahedron ( 20 faces, Fig.103 ).

It is possible to inscribe a sphere into any regular polyhedron and to circumscribe a sphere around any regular polyhedron.


| Home | About us | Links | Contact us |

Copyright 2002-2007 Dr. Yury Berengard.  All rights reserved.